Here you will find Awards and Certificates presented to our Society and its members over the years. Click on the PDF Logo to see the actual Document. Use back button or Tab (x) on your browser, to return to this page. Resize image using your PDF +/- controls.



VHF NFD Centenary

Contest Award


Worked All States Award. Confirmed that MSARS, G3ZMS 2-way contact in all 50 States of the USA



VHF NFD 70cm
First Place.
Operator G4XBG


Regional Club of the Year awarded to us in January 2011


Commemorative plaque from St. Dunstain's Amateur Radio Society for our 40th Anniversary


CQ Journal certificate worked 40 zones around the world




144MHz Squares Award



ARRL DX Century Club Award G3ZMS



VHF National Field Day
Band Leaders 144MHz Runners Up 432MHz



MSARS became Member of G-QRP Club



Runners Up

RSGB first 1.3GHz
Fixed Station Contest


Louis Varney accepts commemorative plaque from St. Dunstan's for our 21st Anniversary



Worked All Continents

Award (WAC)


The Edgware Trophy was awarded to MSARS by the RSGB, for the Winning team in Affiliated Societies CW Contest




Mid Sussex Amateur Radio Society becomes affiliated to the RSGB

Each Year

G3JGR Memorial Trophy presented for the 'Best Achievement by a newly licensed Amateur'.

Each Year

Louis Varney Cup awarded for:'Outstanding work done for the benefit of the Society in the past year'

G5RV Trophy 'Louis Varney Cup'

The 'Louis Varney Cup' is awarded at the AGM as a mark of appreciation for:

'Outstanding work done for the benefit of the Society.

Mike G8KMP (left) presented the award to

our President Ken Gibson G3WYN. 2017.

History of Trophy

During 1975 Louis Varney G5RV presented a Trophy which was to be presented annually. The original wording of this award was as follows: The award should be primarily for the most Meritorious Achievement by a Mid-Sussex member in the Spectrum above 30 MHz unless decided otherwise by the Committee.


G3JGR Memorial Trophy

The 'G3JGR Memorial Trophy' is awarded at the AGM for the:

(Best Achievement by a newly licensed Amateur)

The Memorial Trophy was won by Dave M0LDP for his quick progression through all three amateur radio courses. Namely Foundation, Intermediate and the Advanced Course.


History of Trophy

During 1979 Griff Rockwood G3JGR brought a trophy back from Ceylon (Now renamed Sri Lanka), to be presented every year. The original wording of this award was as follows: For the best performance by a short wave listener.' In 1993 the shield was renamed in memory of Griff Rockwood G3JGR

Construction Trophy - Section 1

The ‘Section 1 Construction Trophy’ is awarded each year to the 'Best overall entry'

The Construction Shield was won by Joint Winners Ian 2E0KUE (Rack mounted PSU + Portable PSU) and Alex M0TOT (Remotely operated Buggy) Award presented by our Chairwoman Stella M6ZRJ

History of Trophy

May 1968 saw the very first MSARS Construction Contest Award. In 1994 the Trophy was renamed ‘The Eric J Letts G3RXJ Memorial Trophy’ in memory of the late Chairman of the Society, who was also a founder member.

Construction Trophy - Section 2

The ‘Section 2 Construction Trophy’ is awarded each year 'For the most original or ingenious entry' or 'The Runner up'. The Section 2 Construction shield was won by Chris M1CSE for his
'Back of a Bus Clock'

Award presented by our Chairwoman Stella M6ZRJ 2018

History of Trophy

In 1971 the committee decided that with the wide variety of construction projects appearing for the judges, that a second wooden shield would be awarded.

List of MSARS Trophies:

G5RV Louis Varney Cup
G3JGR Memorial Trophy
Construction Trophies

G5RV Trophy

List of Awards

1975 - 2016

G3JGR Trophy


List of Awards

1979 - 2016

Construction Section 1

List of Awards

1968 - 2017

Construction Section. 2

List of Awards

1971 - 2017